Each Taegeuk represents characteristics of some of the elements of the universe.  The aim is to understand and express these elements when performing the poomse.

The following Taegeuk Poomse videos can either downloaded by click on the link by its name or all patterns can be viewed on the club’s You Tube page.

Taegeuk Il Jang – Taegeuk Number One

Taegeuk Il Jang represents Keon ‘Heaven’:  the creation of the universe and the beginning.  This pattern is performed for 7th Kup Green Tags Belt.

Taegeuk Ee Jang – Taegeuk Number Two

Taegeuk Ee Jang represents Tae ‘Joyfulness’:  inner strength hidden in a peaceful exterior.  This pattern is performed for 6th Kup Green Belt.

Taegeuk Sam Jang – Taegeuk Number Three

Taegeuk Sam Jang represents Ri ‘Fire/Sun’:  passionate energy in the pursuit of learning.  This pattern is performed for 5th Kup Blue Tags Belt.

Taegeuk Sah Jang – Taegeuk Number Four

Taegeuk Sah Jang represents Jin ‘Thunder’:  courage and grace under pressure.  This pattern is performed for 4th Kup Blue Belt.

Taegeuk Oh Jang – Taegeuk Number Five

Taegeuk Oh Jang represent Seon ‘Wind’:  Wind can be gentle and soothing or ferocious and destructive.  This pattern is performed for 3rd Kup Red Tags Belt.

Taegeuk Ryuk Jang – Taegeuk Number Six

Taegeuk Ryuk Jang represents Kan ‘Water’:  a gentle stream that over time can carve hole in mountains.  This pattern is performed for 2nd Kup Red Belt.

Taegeuk Chil Jang – Taegeuk Number Seven

Taegeuk Chil Jang represents Kan ‘Mountain’:  a dominant force – ponderous majestic and wise.  This pattern is performed for 1st Kup Black Tags Belt.

Taegeuk Pal Jang – Taegeuk Number Eight

Taegeuk Pal Jang represents Kon ‘Earth’:  the completion of the universe, the end of the cycle and the beginning of the new one.  This pattern is performed for 1st Dan/Poom Black Belts.